i hope you guys had fun playing 3 on 3... ur 1st polo competition but not quite an official one since its only 3 on 3... but i still have to say that you guys did a pretty good job *claps* but there is still alot of things for you all to learn and improve....
remember to always respect your opponent so that you can learnt from your mistakes and their mistakes.... learn from the very best and not the worst...
mistakes
- i think before the matches i told you all to find empty space... some follow some dun... after awhile all up end at one side....
- alot of you are still looking at ball and NOT MOVING!!! YOU NEED TO PUSH THE ZONE!!! push open the zone to let ur team mate to drive in and shoot!!! that's why we have the drill drive in and shoot remember?
- alot of you take for granted that the ball is at your side but end up alot of ur opponents just go over your side and snatch your ball.... REMEMBER to always get the ball first and IF SOMEONE COMING FOR YOU.... SHIELD the ball!!
- when you all are in zone... you all focus too much on your own position that you all didnt realise that u all can actually block some of your opponents passes. you all must learn when to bring up your paddle and help your keeper block the shots... cover your opponent's angle and reduce their shooting range... force them to pass out of the zone so that your chaser can block the ball!!
-you all do too many loop pass.... loop pass are very slow and opponent will always look at the ball and estimate where it will land and go for it.... by the time you receive the ball you realise someone already bang you boat!! you ever realise that?? do fast n short passes... that's why seniors always ask you pass and go!
on the positive note...
jace pointed out that everyone should learn to cover another's mistake...
- yes.. that's why we shouldnt scold anyone during game. control our feelings and mind... dun let it control you... likewise you control your boat and not your boat control you.... instead of scolding and dwell on the mistake... use that same energy to motivate and encourage your team mates and tell them wat to do and cover where... you will find it alot nicer to play games with your team mates :)
in summary....
personal skill
- swing your paddle more to block balls & reduce opponent's passing range
- do more bow dip for attacking zone...
gameplay
- find empty space
- keep moving (so that their zone cant mark you)
- always do something! (you can push the zoner or find free space or support your team mate)
- build GPS into your brain (know where is your opponent, your team mates and your ball! of course you also must PLAN WHERE TO GO!)
ok that's it... i try to think of watever i can think of and tell you all next training...
from now onwards:
everyone have to bring shoes
- run one round campus before any water training
- if you dun run, you will get it from me...
bring notebook
- write down your notes n share with your team mates....
clear mind
- have any problems come talk to me
a goal for the training
-achieve something during a training
put in 100% effort in training
- if not might as well dun come training
if you have sch work to settle
- try to arrange after training, one training u miss IS ALOT!
- one layer of fats around your body or one layer of muscle.... up to you to decide :)
see you all next training!
rest well
Alvin Leeeeeeeeee
Canoepolo quote of the day
"you are only as strong as your weakest team mate"
No comments:
Post a Comment