Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Schedule Summary (EDITED!)

Okay so now, basically here's our training schedule:

Monday:
Land training 5.30pm - 8.00+pm

Tuesday (OPTIONAL): *Possible to use spoilt boats
Girls' poolslot 6.00pm - 8.30pm

Wednesday:
Combined land training 5.30pm - 8.00+pm

Saturday: (BE READY AT 9.30, NOT COME AT 9.30!)
Gym 9.30am - 11.00am, Poolslot 11.00am - 1.00 pm

Sunday: (SAME APPLIES FROM THE ABOVE!)
Morning runs 8.15am - 9.00am, Poolslot 9.00am - 11.30am, Play match etc. 11.30am - 2.00pm


Please note that on Saturdays and Sundays will be led by Alvin Lee. And the time stated above is when the gym/runnings STARTS. So do not come exactly at 8.15am or be late. (ESPECIALLY YOU TYFIN!)
And for those who keep missing trainings and pooslots(even with excuses like sick or projects), or cant even be bothered to always be on time, just quit canoe polo, seriously. You know who you are. And it's not like I want to act all captainish but you know if we keep this up, we wont be any different from how we were in year 1. Please lah, we need more discipline.

Things to take note from Romeo:
If you're sick, then you better eat healthily, rest well, or else dont complain.
If you have a lot of assignments, plan them out. You need to know how to balance as well.
If you dont feel like coming for trainings because of the mood, then just leave.


Matt.

Saturday, January 26, 2008

Birthday Parties!

Okay as we all know, Alvin's party's on the 1st of Feb. Check out his blog for more details. We shall celebrate Markus' birthday as well. (:

Anyways, about the party, the next day is there's training and the agm meeting as well. So maybe we could plan out something (Stay overnight or something I dont know?)

I've added blog links to our player lists so for those who wants me to add, let me know.
Cheers~


Matt.

Friday, January 25, 2008

Weekly Runs

As usual, we're going to run on saturday and sunday morning.

It is not optional.

So it's 10am and 8.15am for the running timings on Saturday and Sunday respectively.
Dont be late.
The reason why im even posting this is because, weekly runs are a regular now. So stop asking around if there will be runs the following day. I will only sms you guys if runnings are cancelled, else runnings will be as per usual.

And if you think you have a reason to skip runnings but have time to go down for poolslot, go fuck yourself. We dont need weak-minded players like you.

ANYWAYS:
And I have something to tell you all about Alvin's Birthday party tmr. So if you dont turn up tmr, too bad. (:


Matt.

Friday, January 18, 2008

NACC AGM 2008 Sneak Preview

Sunday, January 13, 2008

Dear Juniors,

i hope you all see the difference if you all had that extra running just before training on sat and sun. this is not the toughest training yet but dun worry... the training will be progressive. take just 10mins of your time to sit down and think about the training and continue update your notebook.... i will do random spot check so you all better update it as often as i update this blog.

for those who came down for today sunday training, i hope you all can see that its not hard to win the year 2... as long as you all play accordingly and follow all the stuff that your seniors taught you... but of course just 1 win does not mean you are already as good as the year2. remember i said that you all have to respect your opponent, be it senior or junior... dun be complacent. be humble and always learn from mistakes. you all need more constant training and must play well and 100% effort for all training. remember wat i always told you.... if other win you, is cuz that they train harder than you. so in order to win them you all need to train double hard or even triple... train hard n have no regrets... i have faith in you guys. you all can do it.

remember for your sprinting stroke
- push n pull
- twist ur upper body
- sit up straight
- punching arm at eye level, not too high not too low
- try to lean forward -> so that u can reach further and use ur body to pull the boat forward!
- dun use the paddle to tap the water, dip in and scoop the water!

top 3 must improve skills for training
- reaction... you all are still too slow...
- sprinting.. slow too...
- ball passing...

rest well and we will continue training on sat again. run will start at 10am sharp.

Alvin Lee

Friday, January 11, 2008

SMS Relay Table

Okay I'll make it simple.
I'll start off by sending to the first 3.

Donny > Markus > Adam > Tim > Ryan
Weiwen > Joey > Tyfin > Jiajun
Banghao > Jace > Weihong > Xavin > Yongkun

If I missed out someone please let me know.

Oh and, for tomorrow's training (Saturday 12/1/2008) and all subsequent
Alvin want us to reach at 10am to go running. If you dont get ready by 10 you'll get from him. (Noted from Alvin himself) So everyone reach at 9.45 sharp. Please show some discipline.

IMPORTANT: oh and, bring a notebook (just for canoepolo) and pen for every training. Alvin wants us to write down things we have learnt.

Matt.

Tuesday, January 8, 2008

READ TO WIN COOL FANTASTIC OFFERS!

HELLOW MY FELLOW DOLPHINS!
From 17th - 19th Jan, there will be the Ngee Ann Open House and we canoe polo have a booth of our very own! Yes indeed! AND GUESS WHAT?
WE ARE IN NEED OF HOT AND SEXY GUYS LIKE YOU!

YES YOU!

AND THAT'S NOT ALL! IF YOU SIGN UP NOW, YOU GET A FREE EXCUSE FOR CLASS! HOW AWESOME IS THAT TIM?!

NOT ONLY THAT! YOU CAN GET TO SEE HOT AND HORNY GIRLS ADAM! WHATS MORE, YOU CAN EVEN ASK THEM TO JOIN US MARKUS! YES JOIN CANOE POLO FOR YOUR OWN SELFISH PLEASURE!

WHO KNOWS, THEY MAY END UP BEING YOUR FUTURE GIRLFRIEND AND TEACH US SOME MAGIC! ISNT THAT COOL BANGHAO?

SOME MIGHT LIKE TO BE ROUGH AND BITE GUYS! WHO KNOWS, MAYBE LOVE DEBATING AS WELL EH JOEY?

DONT THINK HOT GIRLS CAN PLAY DOTA? TRY ASKING THEM DONNY!

HOT GIRLS LIKE THOSE LOVE TO KEEP PET MONKEYS AS WELL! YOU COULD BE ONE OF THEM TYFIN!

WHY DONT ASK SOME MALAY AND RETARD GIRLS TO JOIN! WOULDNT THAT JUST BE SO FUN AND EXCITING JACE AND WEIHONG?

AAH! GIRLS WHO FIGHT ARE THE BEST! THEY'LL KICK YOUR ASS SO HARD WHEN YOU TOUCH THEM. I KNOW YOU LOVE THAT YONGKUN!

LASTLY! EMO AND GOTHIC GIRLS! RAWR! THE ONLY WAY TO KNOW WHAT THEY'RE THINKING IS ASK THEM STRAIGHT UP WEIWEN!

Xavin ah, I think you just stay in class, later your girlfriend burn me alive.

SO WITH ALL THESE SUPER DUPER OFFERS! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR! SIGN UP WITH ME TODAY!


Matt.

NTU 3 on 3 debrief

Hello Junior Guys,

i hope you guys had fun playing 3 on 3... ur 1st polo competition but not quite an official one since its only 3 on 3... but i still have to say that you guys did a pretty good job *claps* but there is still alot of things for you all to learn and improve....

remember to always respect your opponent so that you can learnt from your mistakes and their mistakes.... learn from the very best and not the worst...

mistakes

- i think before the matches i told you all to find empty space... some follow some dun... after awhile all up end at one side....

- alot of you are still looking at ball and NOT MOVING!!! YOU NEED TO PUSH THE ZONE!!! push open the zone to let ur team mate to drive in and shoot!!! that's why we have the drill drive in and shoot remember?

- alot of you take for granted that the ball is at your side but end up alot of ur opponents just go over your side and snatch your ball.... REMEMBER to always get the ball first and IF SOMEONE COMING FOR YOU.... SHIELD the ball!!

- when you all are in zone... you all focus too much on your own position that you all didnt realise that u all can actually block some of your opponents passes. you all must learn when to bring up your paddle and help your keeper block the shots... cover your opponent's angle and reduce their shooting range... force them to pass out of the zone so that your chaser can block the ball!!

-you all do too many loop pass.... loop pass are very slow and opponent will always look at the ball and estimate where it will land and go for it.... by the time you receive the ball you realise someone already bang you boat!! you ever realise that?? do fast n short passes... that's why seniors always ask you pass and go!

on the positive note...

jace pointed out that everyone should learn to cover another's mistake...
- yes.. that's why we shouldnt scold anyone during game. control our feelings and mind... dun let it control you... likewise you control your boat and not your boat control you.... instead of scolding and dwell on the mistake... use that same energy to motivate and encourage your team mates and tell them wat to do and cover where... you will find it alot nicer to play games with your team mates :)


in summary....

personal skill
- swing your paddle more to block balls & reduce opponent's passing range
- do more bow dip for attacking zone...

gameplay
- find empty space
- keep moving (so that their zone cant mark you)
- always do something! (you can push the zoner or find free space or support your team mate)
- build GPS into your brain (know where is your opponent, your team mates and your ball! of course you also must PLAN WHERE TO GO!)

ok that's it... i try to think of watever i can think of and tell you all next training...

from now onwards:

everyone have to bring shoes
- run one round campus before any water training
- if you dun run, you will get it from me...

bring notebook
- write down your notes n share with your team mates....

clear mind
- have any problems come talk to me

a goal for the training
-achieve something during a training

put in 100% effort in training
- if not might as well dun come training

if you have sch work to settle
- try to arrange after training, one training u miss IS ALOT! 
- one layer of fats around your body or one layer of muscle.... up to you to decide :)

see you all next training!

rest well

Alvin Leeeeeeeeee

Canoepolo quote of the day

 "you are only as strong as your weakest team mate"

Sunday, January 6, 2008

DOLPHIN'S LEGACY

HAH HAH HAH! LEGACY!
Okay abit lame, but I want to congratulate everyone in the NTU 3on3.
Like what Benji said, we did really well, and I'm sure he's proud of all of us.

Well done NP1 in getting 3rd. We did our school and name proud!
But this is just the beginning! We will definitely bring more victories ahead!


Although some of us did not perform well and did not win many matches, we did show the right winning attitude and played a fair game. We have managed to gain friends and supporters from different schools throughout this competition and that is something we should hold on to.

Most importantly we have managed to gain the experiences for our future games. We must continue to work hard and train hard, surpassing those who we have lost to.

LONG LIVE KXD!
Our school reputation depends on us now!

oh and,
Alvin Lee is officially our team's advisor whether he likes it or not. Haha.


Matt.